Thirteen stripes, or not?

Many people consider this to be the first American flag sewn by Betsy Ross.

The thirteen stars and stripes represented the original states: Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virginia

When Vermont and Kentucky became states, a new version of the flag was created with fifteen stars and stripes. When our country continued to grow, it was decided to keep thirteen stripes and add another star each time a state joined the Union.

Fast forward to Alaska and Hawaii becoming the 49th and 50th states. President Eisenhower received many ideas for the new American flag. Robert Heft was a seventeen-year-old high school student who created a design for a school project. Robert got a B- on his school project, but his flag was picked as the new American flag.